How to delete your Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, TikTok and Snapchat accounts
Breaking up is never easy, particularly when it comes to your favourite social media apps.
But it can also be incredibly addictive, with many people often feeling the need to take a break, or remove the app from their life altogether.
If you’re thinking it may be time to let go of certain social media apps, here are the ways to delete your accounts on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, TikTok and Snapchat…
How to delete Facebook
Many social media companies will offer options to either deactivate your account (in case you ever wanted to come back) or delete it completely.
That is very much the case when it comes to Facebook.
If you choose to deactivate your account, Facebook users will no longer be able to find you on search or in their timeline, although some private messages may remain accessible.
You can reactivate it again at any time and all your photos, friends and groups will remain.
In order to deactivate your account, simply follow these steps after logging into Facebook via the app or on a web browser:
- Click in the top right of Facebook.
- Select ‘Settings & Privacy’ then hit ‘Settings’.
- Click ‘Your Facebook Information’ in the left column.
- Click ‘Deactivation and Deletion’
- Choose ‘Deactivate Account’, then ‘Continue to Account Deactivation‘ and follow the instructions to confirm.
To delete Facebook you follow the same steps as above but when you select ‘Deactivation and Deletion’ you then need to click ‘Continue to Account Delection’.
You will then need to select ‘Delete Account’, enter your password and then click ‘Continue.’
If you do choose to delete rather than deactivate, you should be mindful that your profile, photos, videos and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted, and you will not be able to use Facebook messenger.
You do have 30 days to cancel your account deletion, but once this time has passed you won’t be able to access your account or retrieve any information from it.
How to delete Instagram
Similarly to Facebook, Instagram gives you the option to either deactivate or delete your account.
Disabling your account will hide your profile, photos, likes, and comments, and you can find the disable option by clicking the person icon in the top right corner and selecting ‘Edit Profile’.
At the bottom of the page, you’ll see the option to temporarily disable your account.
Unlike Facebook, however, you cannot delete your Instagram account through the app – instead, you have to do it through a web browser.
To get rid of it for good, head to the delete Instagram accounts page – once there, enter your password and click ‘Permanently Delete My Account’.
Again, if you do delete your account, anything you have uploaded to Instagram will be permanently removed.
You will not be able to sign up again with the same username and any deleted account cannot be reactivated.
How to delete Twitter
Thinking it’s time to leave the world of retweets and blue ticks behind?
On Twitter, you can deactivate your account, and then it is permanently deleted after 30 days.
Deactivation is not available on mobile devices and must be done by accessing twitter.com on the web.
To deactivate your account, follow these steps:
- Sign in to twitter.com on the web.
- Click on ‘Settings and privacy’ from the drop-down menu under your profile icon.
- From the ‘Account tab’, click on ‘Deactivate your account’.
- Read the account deactivation information, then click ‘Deactivate @username’.
- Enter your password when prompted and confirm that you want to proceed by clicking the ‘Deactivate account’ button.
If you don’t log in for 30 days after deactivation, your account will be permanently deleted.
How to delete TikTok
If you’re finding yourself spending too much time watching TikTok – no matter how adorable that puppy may be – the app makes it very easy to delete when compared to other social media apps.
All you have to do is:
- Open the app.
- Click on the ‘Me’ in the bottom right.
- Click ‘Manage My Account’.
- Click ‘Delete My Account’ and follow the prompts on screen.
That’s it – so long TikTok!
How to delete Snapchat
If you’ve lost the desire to rack up a huge Snapchat streak, it may be time to say goodbye to the photo-based messaging service.
You can only delete your Snapchat account through a web browser, and similarly to Twitter, it deactivates your account before permanently deleting it after 30 days.
To delete Snapchat you must:
- Head to the Accounts Portal page on a web browser.
- Type in your username and password when prompted.
- Select login and enter the same information again.
- Select ‘Delete my Account.’
If you happen to have second thoughts,m you can reactivate your account as long as it is within the 30-day time limit.
Simply log back into Snapchat like you normally would using your username and password – this will automatically reactivate your account and stop it from being deleted.
Share your views in the comments below